Bloggers For Peace: The Secret to Peace

Posted on January 8, 2013



banner

The other day, as I was catching up in this part of the blogosphere that I share with all of you, I happened to come across the blog Everyday Gurus and Kozo’s idea for a network of bloggers to blog about peace in 2013.  I thought this was a GREAT idea!  What better way to promote those things that one wishes to see more of in the world than by actually focusing on it?  So, I decided to join along!

I, like many others – including YOU, I venture to guess – would like to see more peace in the world.  How does one find such a nebulous thing, however?  After so many years of searching for “the answer”, myself, I feel as though I have found it.  I have experienced genuine peace, and sharing the “secret” of how I have come by it is what many of my peace-oriented posts will focus upon in the weeks/months to come.

Here’s the secret…

Already???

Indeed.

The secret to peace is…

Like happiness, peace is an inside job.

Have you ever heard the following quote from Mahatma Ghandi?

See… if you wish to see peace in the world, you must first become peace.  Like, I said, “Peace is an inside job“.  If one cannot find it within, one will never find it without because, you see, the world is a reflection of our inner being.  Those without will always mirror back to us that which exists within.  Don’t believe me?  Let’s do something of an “experiment” this week…

Your assignment this week (mine too!) – should you choose to accept it – is to go out into the world and become conscious of the dealings you have with others, most especially those who irritate or anger you.  Consciously ask yourself “what is it that most irritates/angers me about that person?”.  Then, if you are truly honest with yourself, you will see what they did is a reflection of something you do not like within yourself, something you, yourself, have done/do with regard to others, or is something that you have struggled to overcome in the past.

I would be very interested to hear of your experiences and hope you will share them with me, either below in the comments section or via email.  I welcome both!  And since I am giving myself this assignment as well… I will report back in a post next week.

Peace is our natural state of being…  In this world of duality, however, we cannot come to know what peace is without FIRST experiencing what peace is not.  That requires consciousness on our part, and that is what “enlightenment” is all about.  Living life consciously.

Peace be to you, friends.

~D


Edit:  I quite nearly forgot! As a Blogger for Peace, we are also asked to share a link to a post from another participant…

Cathy’s words on Peace made me smile this morning, so I thought I would share them with you. Peace is Not a Season. Enjoy!

Posted in: community, Musings