Greatness Restored: Anything is Possible

Posted on January 12, 2013



Now, I know – as a Blogger For Peace with Everyday Gurus – I’ve been asked to post about Peace on a monthly basis, but this post has come about as a thought I had this morning, which cannot wait until next month…

Yesterday, Kozo, over at Everyday Gurus, was so nice as to share my post The Secret to Peace with readers.  When I went over there to express my appreciation, I came across a GIF that while disturbing to me (especially as an empath) was so pertinent to the sharing to which it was attached.  This morning, I shared it with Dh and in the process saw another discussion taking place in the comments that got the gears in my mind to churning, so much so that I felt the need to address it here in a post.

Why are those that seem to believe being pro-love equates to being “Anti-American”?

Thinking back on some of the political debates which I am privy to through my Facebook feed, I can see how that might become the perception.  There is just so much Ego involved.  So much FEAR.  Fear of losing one thing or another.  Stuff.  Safety.  Freedom.

Now, this is not to say that I, myself, am above it all.  Not by a long shot.  Admittedly, I am still only human and do still experience such moments as well.  Quite often, though, I’ll quickly scroll by such things, not wanting to be sucked into the fear.

Back to the “Anti-American” idea, though…

I have to take a moment here to share something that I had come across my path again this week, which goes right along with this vein of thought…  For those who take offense to strong language, you’ll not want to watch it.  I found it to be most moving.  Our country used to be something to be proud of, which exactly what Jeff Daniels’ character is getting at here.

Perhaps – one day – it can be again. Perhaps it can become a nation of humanitarians – pro-peace, pro-love, and pro-compassion. There are those in our country that do give of themselves, as well as their resources, to make the world – beyond our borders – a better place. It begins with each and every one of us – being the change, raising our voice for that which we wish to see. Ripples extending across the larger pond.

Maybe, with enough of us working toward that end, our greatness will be restored.

I like to believe anything is possible…

Posted in: community, Musings